

Alberta Chess Association PO Box 11839 Main Edmonton Alberta T5J 3K9

## **Minutes**

The Planning Meeting took place on May 21st, 2022, via Zoom. Starting time 2 pm.

- (1) Attendance Present were Rafael Arruebarrena (President), Ian Findlay (Secretary), Simon Vandervinne (Treasurer), Jim Daniluk (Vice President), Avelino Angelo Tolentino (Past President) Dale Haessel, Leah Hughey, Cristian Ivanescu, Ico van den Born, Vlad Rekhson, Terry Seehagen, Lars Lowther
- (2) Planning Committee Minutes It was moved by Ian Findlay, seconded by Cristian Ivanescu that the Planning Committee Minutes be accepted as written. Passed 6 in favour, 1 abstention.
- (3) Bitan Banerjee request to use AB Closed funds for different tournaments It was moved by Vlad Rekhson, seconded by Ian Findlay that Bitan Banerjee be able to use his 2022 AB Closed travel grant to play in the 2022 Canadian Open and he be able to use his 2021 \$1000 travel grant to a 2022 tournament approved by Rafael. Passed 7 in favour, 1 abstention.
- (4) Paris Dorn AB Junior Travel Grant It was moved by Vlad Rekhson, seconded by Ian Findlay that Paris Dorn be able to use his 2022 AB Junior Travel Grant to play in the 2022 Canadian Open. Passed unanimously with 8 in favour.
- (5) Samuel Hoekman U16 travel grant. It was moved by Ian Findlay, seconded by Lars Lowther, that Samuel Hoekman be able to use his \$1000 travel grant to play in the 2022 NAYCC. Passed unanimously with 8 in favour.
- (6) MHO It was moved by Ian Findlay, seconded by Vlad Rekhson, that the MHO receive a \$500 to enhance their prize fund, to be given as cash prize(s). Passed unanimously with 8 in favour. Open. Money to go towards having a VIP chess player attend would have to be reviewed by the Board later.
- (7) Junior Committee Report Vlad Rekhson reported that the Junior Committee has arranged that GM Evgeny Bareev receive \$1500 to train two groups of 6 juniors.
- (8) TD Workshop It was moved by Ian Findlay, seconded by Sim Vandervinne, that the ACA give the CCC \$300 so that the CCC can conduct a TD Workshop. This passed with 9 in favour and 2 abstentions.
- (9) NAYCC 2022 In order to help juniors, come to this prestigious event, it was moved by Ico van den Born, seconded by Terry Seehagen, that the ACA provide the funds to the chess clubs as follows to help the juniors pay for their travel

- i) Fort McMurray \$1400
- ii) Edmonton \$1400
- iii) CJCC \$700
- iv) Other areas \$700

This passed unanimously with 11 in favour.

- (10) Executive Director Position It was moved Vlad Rekhson, seconded by Ian Findlay that we set up a committee to investigate paying an Executive Director. The Committee shall consist of Rafael Arruebarrena, Leah Hughey, Ian Findlay, Vlad Rekhson and Simon Vandervinne. This passed unanimously with 11 in favour.
- (11) Calgary International It was moved by Ico van den Born, seconded by Terry Seehagen, that the Calgary International be given an additional \$1000. This passed with 10 in favour and 1 abstention.
- (12) 2023 Canadian Open It was moved by Dale Haessel, seconded by Terry Seehagen that we allocate \$3000 from our budget this year to go towards the 2023 Canadian Open in Calgary. It was passed with 9 in favour and 2 abstentions.
- (13) Next Meeting The next meeting will be held after the 3<sup>rd</sup> round of the Alberta Open in Calgary on October 10<sup>th</sup>.
- (14) Adjournment It was moved by Ian Findlay, seconded by Vlad Rekhson that the meeting be adjourned. This was passed unanimously with 11 in favour.

At 4:00 pm, the meeting was adjourned.