

Alberta Chess Association PO Box 11839 Main Edmonton Alberta T5J 3K9

Minutes of Annual General Meeting

October 10th, 2022, Calgary Chess Club and via Zoom @ 2:00 pm

(1) Call to Order and introduction of Officers - President

9 Board members in Attendance:

Rafael Arruebarrena (President) Ian Findlay (Secretary) Jim Daniluk (Vice-President) Avelino Angelo Tolentino (Past-President) Vlad Rekhson Dale Haessel Cristian Ivanescu Lars Lowther Terry Seehagan Ico van den Born

Assembly

15 general members present

Michael Anderson Gordon Campbell David Ludwig Michael Ludwig Glenda Han Walter Watson Roy Yearwood Bhavik Dave Arthur Milne Avery Michael Hafiz Karmali Jyn San Miguel Jaiveek Dave Nicolas Zacharias Tanishka Gokhale Rafael called the meeting to order and introduced the Board members. Rafael outlined the features we would be using on Zoom to conduct the meeting.

(2) Minutes of the last AGM

It was moved by Ian Findlay, seconded by Jim Daniluk that the minutes of the 2021 AGM be accepted. Motion passed unanimously.

(3) President's Address – President

Rafael stated in his President's report a difficult year for the ACA due to the COVID-19, however he was pleased that the ACA was able to hold most of its events and things were getting back to normal. He mentioned the very successful NAYCC held in Calgary. Rafael mentioned the many changes to the Board and encouraged people to run.

(4) Financial Report and Statement – Treasurer

The statements were done by David Ludwig and were sent out as an attachment. Since the Treasurer, Simon Vandervinne was absent, David was asked to give the financial report. David reported that due to COVID, much of our spending in 2021 had been curtailed. Thanks to the proceeds of the Casino night, we have large cash balances. Our next casino night will be in 3rd quarter 2023. Most of our Casino money needs to be spent before the next casino as per AGLC guidelines. The Financial Statements were audited by Ian Findlay and Dale Haessel. It was moved by Roy Yearwood, seconded by Jim Daniluk that the Financial Statement be accepted as read. The motion passed unanimously.

(5) Election of Officers and Directors

Ian Findlay nominated Michael Ludwig as Secretary (accepts) David Ludwig nominates Dale Haessel as Treasurer (accepts) Ian Findlay nominates David Ludwig as Treasurer (declines) Rafael Arruebarrena nominates Jim Daniluk as Vice-President (accepts) Vlad Rekhson nominates Jyn San Miguel as Director (accepts) Vlad Rekhson nominates Michael Anderson as Director (declines) Vlad Rekhson nominates Nicholas Zacharias as Director (accepts) Vlad Rekhson nominates Bhavik Dave as Director (accepts) Ian Findlay nominates David Ludwig as Director (accepts) Ian Findlay nominates Jaiveek Dave as Director (accepts)

Secretary – Michael Ludwig by acclamation Treasurer – Dale Haessel by acclamation Vice President – Jim Daniluk by acclamation Directors (2022-2024) – Jyn San Miguel, Nicholas Zacharias, David Ludwig and Jaiveek Dave. Director (2022-2023) – Bhavik Dave (replacing Dale Haessel)

(6) New Business

TD fees for ACA tournaments.
 Gordon Campbell stated that the ACA compensation for TDs is low and less than minimum wage. He mentioned that the Calgary Chess Club pays its directors \$75 per session. It was

moved by Gordon Campbell and seconded by Ian Findlay that the TD's received \$75 per session to direct ACA tournaments. Vlad Rehkson said that any td would have to abstain on this motion. This was tied with 2 for, 2 against and 9 abstentions. The motion was defeated by the President's vote.

- ii) E transfers for tournament entry Hafiz Karmali objected to paying e transfers to tournaments where the security question was known in advance. He mentioned that banks do not want you to do this. Gordon Campbell replied that this was necessary to facilitate the tournament process and that there was zero risk to the person losing his money. After much discussion, the chair closed the discussion.
- iii) ACA Road Warrior Program Lars Lowther thought the Road Warrior program should be re-instated and be renamed in memory of Aaron Sequillion. It was moved by Lars Lowther, seconded by Ian Findlay that this be done and worked out at the next ACA Meeting. This motion passed with 8 in favour, 3 abstaining and 1 against.
- iv) Website claiming to be partners with ACA.
 It was noted that there was a website claiming to be partners with the ACA. It was decided that we will ask them to stop using this language.
- v) Next Meeting The next meeting will take place on November 20th via Zoom at 2 pm. This is the Planning meeting.
- (7) Adjournment It was moved by Ian Findlay, seconded by Jim Daniluk that this meeting be adjourned. Motion passed 18 for and 1 abstention.