

Alberta Chess Association PO Box 11839 Main Edmonton Alberta T5J 3K9

Minutes of Annual General Meeting

October 13th, 2024 at the Calgary Chess Club and via Zoom @ 3:30 p.m.

(1) Call to Order and introduction of Officers – President

Attendance

8 Board members present:

Lars Lowther (President)
Michael Ludwig (Secretary)
Dale Haessel (Treasurer)
Jim Daniluk (Vice President)
David Ludwig
Nicholas Zacharias
Sam Hoekman
Zeeshan Munir

Directors Terry Seehagen and Lili Ou joined late.

15 general members in attendance.

Lars introduced the board members and outlined the meeting procedures.

(2) Minutes of the last AGM

It was moved by Jim, seconded by Dale, to accept the minutes of the 2023 AGM. Motion passed unanimously.

(3) President's Address - President

Lars thanked all the volunteers who helped to run successful events. He noted the NAJCC happening in Calgary this year, and how Alberta has hosted basically every major North American event in recent years.

(4) Financial Report and Statement – Treasurer

Dale went through the 2023 financial statements, explaining the various expenditures. He noted that the ACA did not collect membership fees from the CFC, but in return did not pay rating fees to the CFC. Jim asked Dale to explain the difference in which spending is allowed from the general account compared to the Casino account, to which Dale outlined the basic rules. It was added that the ACA runs its Casino event roughly every 21 months.

It was moved by Avery Michalchuk to accept the financial statements, seconded by Zeeshan. Motion passed unanimously.

(5) Election of Officers and Directors

Sam nominates Michael as Secretary, seconded by Dale. (Accepts)

Secretary – Michael Ludwig by acclamation.

Michael nominates Sam as Vice President, seconded by Jim. (Accepts)

Vice President – Sam Hoekman by acclamation.

Sam nominates David, seconded by Jim. (Accepts)
Michael Anderson nominates Gordon Campbell, seconded by Zeeshan. (Accepts)
Dale nominates Nicholas, seconded by Zeeshan. (Declines)
Garth Dunn nominates Tyler Kascor, seconded by Jim. (Accepts)
Zeeshan nominates Michael Anderson, seconded by Jim. (Accepts)
Gordon Campbell nominates Garth Dunn, seconded by Jim. (Accepts)
Dale nominates Avery Michalchuk, seconded by Zeeshan. (Accepts)

Tyler Kascor withdraws his candidacy.

Director (2024-25) – Garth Dunn volunteers for the one year term. Directors (2025-26) – David Ludwig, Gordon Campbell, Michael Anderson, and Avery Michalchuk by acclamation.

(6) Other items

i) Gordon Campbell motioned, seconded by Roy Yearwood, that the ACA increase TD compensation to \$75 per round, to a maximum of \$150 per day. Significant discussion ensued. Criticisms were made on the existing honorarium of \$75 per day, and it was remarked that it was raised from \$50 per day in 2022. The unclear financial consequences of a change were noted, as was how the Calgary Chess Club chooses to treat directing as work rather than volunteering. Michael mentioned that Zeeshan had brought up the topic prior to the meeting, and it was at that time intended to be resolved at the Planning Meeting. The suggestion to discuss it at the Board level, when a more informed debate can take place, was reiterated.

Two friendly amendments were declined. Virtual attendees were unable to follow the entire in-person discussion, and there was an objection raised to the manner of the motion and the vote. It was advised that active TDs should abstain from voting, due to conflict of interest, as was done when this topic was brought up in previous years. Motion passed, 11 in favour, 8 against.

Tyler Kascor motioned, seconded by David: "Whereas, additional data on current fee structures, potential budget impacts, and feedback from tournaments directors and organizers is needed to make an informed decision.

Be it resolved that the vote on increasing tournament director fees be deferred to the next scheduled meeting, allowing sufficient time to gather necessary information and conduct a thorough review of the proposal."

Motion passed 11 in favour, 7 against. The topic will be taken up at the Planning Meeting.

(7) Adjournment – It was moved by Sam, seconded by David, that the meeting be adjourned. Motion passed.

At 4:45 p.m., the meeting was adjourned.